Aggressive stance against taking oneself too seriously

I don’t know why, but one of the most annoying character traits that I can think of is when someone takes themselves too seriously. Know-it-all’s are a close second. I do my best not to let these personality types get me agitated.

Conversely, one of the most attractive behaviors I can think of is humility. I instantly get along with someone who can openly admit that they don’t know much in this world. It helps me to feel safer, being around people like that. I don’t feel that I have to live up to some standard while conversing with them. A more serious / know-it-all type (we’ll randomly name him “Ron”) will have expectations about how his time is to be used. Ron has high standards for what constitutes value, and if I don’t have anything valuable for him, then there’s no sense in giving me any more of his time.

“Jack” (named for the kind and honorable Jack Bauer), on the other hand, cares more about the person they’re with, rather than that the content of the conversation fits into a standard of interaction.

I’m not a factoid guy. (Thanks, google, for making up for this lacking!)

I’m not into history. (Though I acknowledge its importance.)

I don’t have a college degree. (Though I have always been a good speller, keen at mathematics, a quick wit, above average SAT scores and at, or above, 3.0 GPA… but those things aren’t my identity and they don’t make me special.)

Well.. the quick wit one is probably more valuable to me than the rest of those things. I just want people to accept and love me, and I think anyone could relate to that.

One of the more meaningful quotes that I’ve read recently is by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry… “Love does not consist in gazing at each other, but in looking outward together in the same direction.” 

I think this quote applies quite nicely to romantic love; and indeed, I have nostalgic thoughts from my childhood of laying under the stars on a huge stack of hay bales next to my dream girl… just watching the stars, chatting idly about life and the world around us… without the pressure of trying to impress her, because the focus isn’t on each other, but we, as a team, are looking outward in the same direction… pondering life together.  Asking questions, not having all the answers, and being perfectly OK with that. I always felt that I could impress a girl… as long as I wasn’t having to try to impress!  Go figure.

Is that like saying “I’m invisible when nobody’s looking”?

One thought on “Aggressive stance against taking oneself too seriously

Leave a Reply

